WHY I QUIT VIDEO GAMES

I remember the day I played my first video game vividly, I had just moved to Blantyre from Mzuzu where I was living with my grandparents. My mother brought home a desktop computer that I am quite sure was running on windows 98, she switched on and taught me how to play the computer game “Dave”. Since then video games were my thing, to make matters worse I played around boys a lot and that is when I was introduced to 8/16 bit games, think super Mario, battle city, street fighter, duck hunt and pacman. When I grew older so did my love for gaming grow, except the 4 year period where I was in boarding school, but throughout my college years I have been a gamer, FIFA especially. I would happily challenge any guy to a game of FIFA, well that was until about 8 months ago when I made the decision to quit playing video games.

images

I initially never thought of sharing this decision until last week when I was reading Scott Brown’s book “A weed in the church” (great book I recommend it), when I stumbled upon this “The scriptures say that we are to put away childish things, but our culture says that it is a bad thing to be an adult. So even though they are sexually acting like adults, young men are not growing up and taking responsibilities as providers, husbands and fathers. Instead, they delay the marks of maturity so that they can play games”. Ouch.

uzebox_1

I know this is not directly speaking about me as a woman but it gave me something to think about. If there is one thing I have really been learning this year is that biblical womanhood is not as easy as it sounds. God created man and woman, and for each one for them he gave responsibilities and the more I dig deeper in the bible and learn what these responsibilities are the more I see that I can’t afford to spend all my free time playing video games when I could be preparing for the roles that God expects me to fulfill now and also when God willing I become a wife and mother one day.

“Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, making the best use of the time, because the days are evil” – Ephesians 5:15-16

For me the biggest thief of my time was video games, for you it could look like something else, maybe music, shopping, friends, social networks etc. Ladies, the amount of time (and money) that we spend on our hobbies we could be using it to cultivate Godliness and to grow in the knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ.

Our father and creator made us with a purpose and duties, that he expects us to fulfill, among those are:

1)Be devoted to the glory of God. (John Piper, What’s the difference?: Manhood and womanhood according to the bible)

2)We should be women of the book, who love and study the bible in every area of its teaching.(John Piper, What’s the difference?: Manhood and womanhood according to the bible)

3)That we be totally committed to ministry, whatever your specific calling; that you not fritter your time away on soaps or women’s magazines or unimportant hobbies or shopping; that you redeem time for Christ and his kingdom. (John Piper, What’s the difference?: Manhood and womanhood according to the bible)

4)That if you are single, you exploit your singleness to the full devotion to God and not be paralyzed by the desire to be married. That if you are married, you creatively and intelligently and sincerely support the leadership of your husband ad deeply as obedience to Christ will allow. That you encourage him in his God appointed role as head: that you influence him in his spiritually primarily through your fearless tranquility and holiness and prayer. (John Piper, What’s the difference?: Manhood and womanhood according to the bible)

5)That if you have children you accept responsibility with your husband to raise up children in the discipline and instruction of the Lord. (John Piper, What’s the difference?: Manhood and womanhood according to the bible)

6)That you not assume that secular employment is a greater challenge or a better use of your life than the countless opportunities of service and witness in the home, the neighborhood, the community, the church, and world; that you not only pose the question: career or full-time homemaker?, but that you ask just as seriously: full-time career or freedom for ministry? that you ask: Which would be greater for the Kingdom—to work for someone who tells you what to do to make his or her business prosper, or to be God’s free agent dreaming your own dream about how your time and your creativity could make God’s business prosper? And that in this you make your choices not on the basis of secular trends or upward lifestyle expectations, but on the basis of what will strengthen the faith of the Family and advance the cause of Christ. (John Piper, What’s the difference?: Manhood and womanhood according to the bible)

7)“The wisest of women builds her house, but folly with her own hands tears it down.” Proverbs 14:1

“Hear, my son, your father’s instruction, and forsake not your mother’s teaching, “ Proverbs 1:8

”And these words that I command you today shall be on your heart. You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, and when you walk by the way, and when you lie down, and when you rise.” Deuteronomy 6:6-7

“My sons, keep your father’s commandment, and forsake not your mother’s teaching.” Proverbs 6:20

“Older women likewise are to be reverent in behavior, not slanderers or slaves to much wine. They are to teach what is good, and so train the young women to love their husbands and children, to be self-controlled, pure, working at home, kind, and submissive to their own husbands, that the word of God may not be reviled.” Titus 2: 3-5

Dear friends, as you can see the tasks ahead of us are not easy, but praise God for he has gave us a way to do all things, he gives us the strength and courage to do these things as well as His sufficient word. The best time to start preparing for the future is now, not 2 weeks before your wedding or a month before your baby is born, the time is now.

drt

What if we spent less time pursuing pointless hobbies such as gaming and started cultivating Godliness and pick up hobbies that will help us be better women, daughter, wives and mothers? What if we spent less time in magazine’s following the latest trends and spent more time in the word of God being corrected and sanctified? What if we spent less time reading fictional romantic novels and spent more time reading what older- wiser and more experienced women have written about this journey we are on? What if we spent more time listening to older wise women and seeking wisdom from them instead of seeking the world’s opinion of everything?

“Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, making the best use of the time, because the days are evil” – Ephesians 5:15-16

684baccebd28adbfa154bba5974671fc

RESOURCES
What’s the difference? Manhood and Womanhood according to the bible.-John Piper.
A weed in the Church- Scott Brown.
Preparing Boys For Battle
desiringgod.org
reviveourhearts.com
girltalkhome.com
girldefined.com
ncfic.org
afrofem.blogspot.com

One Comment Add yours

  1. Kelvin C Gawa says:

    Its a fact most youth are buzy wasting their time 4 nothing insted of doing the God’s will/words,to my fellow youths lets have time for God’ words……psalms 51,1 john1:4-9

Leave a Reply

