#POETRY : FLAWLESS

Flawless

Was what God created on the 6th day when he made me

But then I ate the apple

And all of a sudden my weight felt two pounds heavier

My cheeks, chubbier

My teeth, too straight

In fact my body too curved

My boobs never the right kind of pear shaped.

 

I looked at myself,

Not as the beautiful perfect woman God made,

The one he called the most prized,

No longer as one whose duties require her to be stronger for her husband,

But I now wanted his role,

Wanted to go hunt down the deer and bring food to the table

Do everything that God didn’t intend me to be

When he created eve.

 

When I ate the fruit,

Every body part that God gave no longer a tool to lead into the worship of him,

But something I idolized and made god.

But our God is a God who not only deserves to be worshipped

But desires it.

And so he sent the Christ

To tear up the veil that closed my eyes

So I could see clearly the image before me

When I looked into the mirror,

Beautiful.

Every curve and every perfect imperfection

Was made in His image

In that moment I saw that it’s not what I wear or what I weigh that makes me beautiful,

It’s the very Spirit of God that he gave me.

And I’ll never be able to give myself to an Adam that doesn’t understand that without Christ,

There is nothing sexy about me,

I.Am.Just.A.Dead.Body.

 

Who has been brought back from death

And given a new heart, a new flesh.

Yes a new curve.

This new heart allows me to sing with all the veins, arteries and Cholesterol in me Psalm 139

I am beautifully and fearfully made.

I can’t wait for the day you Adam can say with Solomon

That you my Love are all together beautiful

And every bit of lovely

Not because of my frame but because He sees our Lord.

Leave a Reply

