Jesus Vs Coffee

There are very few things in this life that cheer me up as much as walking into a room that smells like coffee. If you are a coffee lover you probably know this feeling and you are probably imagining it right now! I love coffee, my day starts when the caffein kicks in. Nothing like having coffee on a gloomy day or when you are having “one of those days”, you can trust it to help you be productive and people friendly through out the day. I’ve recently discovered the best morning combo, coffee and the bible.

This year i developed the habit of reading my bible and having my coffee at the same time! It is amazing. I often find my coffee getting cold as I get carried away in the word. Through this I realized that Jesus and coffee offer me two different things. Coffee makes me happy, just the thought of it makes me happy, the happiness is able to make me more productive in the morning and sometimes even carry me through the day. But Jesus offers me something much greater and better than that, Jesus offers me joy.

Original Photo . IG : @justdianaisfine
 
Joy is something thats deeper than happiness. The joy that Christ gives me not only gets me through the day but through my life. It is what gets me through happy times, the reality that there is something better to be experienced than momentary pleasure. It is what helps me overcome depression and anxiety, knowing that Jesus is working to make my joy complete in him through hope. And when I am struggling joy is what keeps me focused on him.
Jesus offers me joy that is found in himself, knowing him is the joy that is why I tend to forget about my coffee when i am getting to know him in the word. I’m still learning to fight for joy in Christ whenever I have a hard day or just plain struggling. Instead of finding temporary pleasure in the things that make me happy, I choose to fight for the joy that Christ brings.

A good writing sessioon, a nice comforting meal, good music, a good movie, coffee or an encouraging talk with a friend are great things but they cant give us the kind of satisfaction our hearts desire. Sure it will make us happy for a few moments, but when it comes to down to the hard times when you need to see light at the end of the tunnel. We need something or someone greater than anything this world can offer, Jesus Christ is that someone. He is the one our hearts are longing for, let us run to him so that our joy may be lasting and complete. His word is full of encouragent on why we must be joyful in bad and good times. I encourage you brothers and sisters to hide these words in your heart and pursue His Joy. Find your joy in Jesus, his work on the cross and the hope we have of his return.

“fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.“- Hebrews 12:2

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may abound in hope.“- Romans 15:13

“For his anger lasts only a moment, but his favor lasts a lifetime; weeping may stay for the night, but rejoicing comes in the morning.” Psalm 30:5.

 

Leave a Reply

